LOADING

Type to search

Your Guide to COVID-19 Requirements at the Delaware Beaches

Share
Benches on the boardwalk in Rehoboth Beach./Adobe Stock, by jonbilous

Heading to the coast? Here’s what you need to know about regulations for beachgoers, and how beach towns are working to limit the spread of COVID-19.


With Memorial Day behind us, the unofficial start to the beach season is here. Many are itching to shake off the quarantine blues and head to the Delaware beaches as they have every summer—but the sun and surf is accompanied by something else this year: social distancing.

Gov. John Carney recently lifted restrictions on the Delaware beaches and community pools for state residents starting Friday, May 22 at 5 p.m. Another update lifts the short-term rental ban and out of state quarantine on June 1. But strict hygiene and social distancing requirements are still to be followed.

“Summer at the beach and the pool is a huge part of life for so many Delawareans. As we ease our way into a new normal, we’re trying to find ways for Delawareans to enjoy the outdoors and the company of their families,” said Carney in a statement from the governor’s office.

Before you dig out your flip flops and flock to the coast, here are some guidelines to be aware of.

Out-of-state travelers no longer need to quarantine for 14 days.

Non-Delawareans looking to take a trip to the beach will find that out-of-state travelers will not have to quarantine for two weeks upon arrival, starting June 1.

Previously, Delaware State Police stationed troopers at routes typically used by out-of-state travelers to enforce the mandatory quarantine, and those living out of state who wished to visit their beach homes were permitted to as long as they followed the mandatory quarantine mandate.

The ban on short-term rental units is lifted starting June 1.

In April, Carney issued a mandate that banned short-term rentals including vacation home rentals, hotels, motels, and condo rentals to help fight the spread of COVID-19. Starting June 1, that ban is lifted.

Beachgoers must stay at least six feet from non-family members.

Face coverings must be worn on the boardwalk, and are encouraged on the beach.

People over 65 and those with underlying health conditions should continue to shelter in place. All beachgoers should avoid water fountains.

Local officials are encouraged to limit capacity and overcrowding on the beaches.

Towns are required to identify enforcement teams, and are encouraged to “designate Beach Ambassadors to educate beachgoers about social distancing and serve as liaisons to law enforcement,” according to the announcement.

Arcade games will be closed on the boardwalk, and public facilities like bathrooms, railings and benches must be cleaned multiple times a day. Towns are required to designate six-foot intervals where lines forms, and are encouraged to limit parking spaces and access points to the beach.

Beaches at some of the state parks may limit capacity to vehicles to enforce social distancing, according to the announcement.

Current surf fishing restrictions on the number of individuals allowed per vehicle will be lifted.

However, everyone in the vehicle must be from the same household. Surf fishing access may also be limited to avoid overcrowding.

Community pools will be restricted to 20 percent of regular capacity.

Swim practices and lessons are not permitted. Public swimming pools regulated by the Division of Public Health must comply with requirements stated here. Private pools at residences are not covered by these guidelines.

Restaurants and bars may begin limited dine-in services.

Delaware restaurants are able to open indoor spaces at 30 percent capacity starting on June 1.

Ice cream shops and trucks are now open for curbside pickup or takeout with strict social distancing measures. Food and drink concessions are restricted to takeout or delivery service, and must follow restaurant regulations. Customers must be six feet apart when waiting in line.

Other mandates to be aware of.

Beach rentals such as umbrellas and chairs are permitted, as long as they are sanitized between each rental.

Outdoor gatherings up to 250 people are permitted in Phase 1 if they follow guidelines listed here.

Updated May 28, 2020

You Might also Like