Delaware Symphony Orchestra to Honor Acclaimed Composer

Jaime Laredo and Sharon Robinson will perform André Previn’s new “Double Concerto” on Sept. 23. Previn will be present to receive the A. I. du Pont Composer’s Award.

The acclaimed duo of violinist Jaime Laredo and cellist Sharon Robinson will be featured in the opening concert of the Delaware Symphony Orchestra’s 2016–2017 five-concert classics series on Sept. 23 in Copeland Hall of The Grand Opera House in Wilmington. Laredo and Robinson will perform the new “Double Concerto,” composed for them by internationally recognized conductor, composer, and pianist André Previn, who will be present at the concert to receive the DSO’s 2016–2017 A. I. du Pont Composer’s Award.

This will be the first performance of the “Double Concerto,” which was co-commissioned by eight world-class orchestras, following those of the co-commissioners. David Amado will conduct the opening concert to begin his 14th season as music director of DSO. Laredo and Robinson will join Amado for his pre-concert discussion at 6:30 p.m. In addition to the Previn work, the concert will feature the monumental Symphony No. 5 by Gustav Mahler.  

From its dark, funereal opening to its blazing, triumphant final movement—it gloriously fulfills Mahler’s own requirement that a ‘symphony must be like the world … and contain everything.’ From its darkest moments to its most brilliant climaxes, this is one of the glories of the symphonic literature,” Amado says. He describes the Previn concerto as “a work filled with charm, grace, good humor and beauty. It is a perfect partner for the universalist Mahler. Mr. Previn’s music represents a compelling balance of classical values and more modern, broader-reaching styles, all overlaid with an irresistible gift of lyricism. It is an honor to play his music and to have him join us.”

- Advertisement -

In 1985, the Delaware Symphony instituted the A.I du Pont Composer’s Award to honor Alfred I. duPont, who is credited with founding the DSO. The award recognizes a distinguished living American composer or conductor who has made a significant contribution to contemporary classical music. Past winners are among the most celebrated composers of recent history, including Phillip Glass, Jennifer Higdon and Kevin Puts. Christopher Theofanidis received the 2015–2016 Season award. On being named this year’s recipient, Mr. Previn said, “It is an honor to be chosen for the A. I. du Pont Composer’s Award and its exceptional roster of winners. I look forward to receiving the award in person, and to hearing Jaime Laredo and Sharon Robinson once again perform my Double Concerto.”

For more, visit or call 656-7442. 

Our Best of Delaware Elimination Ballot is open through February 22!

Holiday flash sale ... subscribe and save 50%

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.