Type to search

ABC honors student winners, the future of the construction industry and members for safety


CEFD Scholarship Winner

The ABC Delaware Construction Education Foundation of Delaware, a 501 (c)3 subsidiary, dedicated to the future of the construction industry, presented its annual scholarship award to Brandon Roth of St. George’s Vo-Tech

ABC Delaware Careers In Construction Committee Chairman Matthew Degli Obizzi presents a CEFD scholarship to Brandon Roth of St. George’s

“The scholarship program is for students graduating from high school who are continuing their education at a post-secondary institution in a construction-related field,” said ABC Delaware Careers In Construction Committee Chairman Matthew Degli Obizzi. “The scholarship is available to dependents of employees who work for ABC Delaware member companies or graduating students from a vo-tech high school. The winner receives $1,000, which is renewable each year for four years, as long as he/she is still in a construction-related field and carries a 2.75 GPA.”

Brandon is a senior at St. George’s and will graduate with a 3.95 GPA. He was inducted into the National Honor Society in 2014. He will attend Delaware Tech in the fall to major in energy and engineering technology. Brandon was involved in many activities at St. George’s, some of which included participating in the ACE mentoring program for two years. He was named the Outstanding Co-Op student at St. George’s for 2014. In 2013, he won first place in school and third overall in the CAD division at the Delaware Tech Drafting competition. In 2014 he once again won first in school and second overall in the same competition. He was also honored this evening for completing a successful co-op program with ABC member Corrado Construction. Brandon has also earned the rank of Life Scout with the Boy Scouts of America.

STEP Winner

ABC Delaware contractor members were honored for their safety practices with a national STEP award. The award, Safety Training and Evaluation Process offers companies an organized approach to analyze and further develop a contractor safety program. The process offers companies a way to evaluate safety and loss prevention while providing a vital, objective method to measure safety program improvements.

The awards are presented in five categories, bronze, silver, gold, platinum and diamond.

This year, 31 member companies were honored with awards.

Ralph G. Degli Obizzi & Sons, Inc.  Silver

R.C. Fabricators, Inc.  Silver

Custom Iron Shop, Inc.  Silver

Drywall, Inc.  Silver

Commonwealth Fire Protection  Silver

Nowland Associates, Inc.  Silver

Erco Ceilings and Interiors, Inc.  Gold

Spacecon, LLC  Gold

Pearce & Moretto, Inc.  Gold

GFP Cement Contractors, LLC  Gold
Bancroft Construction Company  Gold

J.F. Sobieski Mechanical Contractors, Inc.  Gold

Worth & Company, Inc.  Gold

County Insulation Company  Gold

R.S. Widdoes & Son, Inc.  Gold

Service Unlimited, Inc.  Gold

George & Lynch, Inc.  Gold

Harry Caswell, Inc.  Gold

Alliance Electric, Inc.  Platinum

EDiS Company  Platinum
Wayman Fire Protection, Inc.  Platinum

Farrell Roofing  Platinum

Nason Construction, Inc.  Platinum

Color Works Painting, Inc.  Diamond

M. Davis & Sons, Inc.  Diamond

The Tri-M Group, LLC  Diamond

GG+A Construction  Diamond

Eastern Industrial Services, Inc.  Diamond

Nickle Electrical Companies  Diamond

DiSabatino Construction Company  Diamond

Student Career Winners

“Each year, the Careers in Construction Committee presents awards to students enrolled in the construction trade curriculum who has shown outstanding academic achievement and completed a successful co-op program with an ABC member,” said ABC Delaware President Ed Capodanno. “This year, seven students from the New Castle County Vo-Tech School District are being honored. Each student receives a $250 gift certificate to a local supply house to help them purchase tools to get started and a tool bag.”

Keith Baker of Tri-Supply & Equipment presents Shaquanne Bailey of Howard with his award.






Ryan Cook from Hodgson is presented his award by Steve Dignan of Nickle Electrical Companies.






Kyle Spence of Hodgson receives his award from Rick Rettig of Merit Mechanical.






Alex Provin of Delcastle is presented his award by John Gooden of M. Davis.






Rodrigo Tlaseca receives his award from Mike Toy of Quality HVAC.






Brandon Roth of St. George’s is presented his award by Joe Corrado of Corrado Construction.






Greg Yazidjian of St. George’s accepts his award from Steve Dignan of Nickle Electrical Companies.