Diversity Awards

This year, ABC Delaware awarded 31 Diversity & Inclusion in the Workplace Awards to members for championing diversity in our industry.

Developed by the ABC Delaware Diversity Committee, the purpose of the award is to encourage members to help shape the future of the industry by welcoming all people, where employees and suppliers are limited only by their potential, client’s needs are actively served and shareholders receive value for their investment.

For the third year in a row, ABC Delaware and members of the Diversity Committee were honored with the State of Delaware Office of Supplier Diversity Difference in Delaware Award, presented by the office of executive director Michelle Morin. Morin congratulated the 31 companies honored with awards and encouraged other members to look at their policies and what they are doing to recognize the changing faces and cultures of the construction industry today.

- Advertisement -

The awards are presented in categories of Gold, Silver and Bronze. This year’s winners include:

Gold Award Winners

Assurance Media, Bancroft Construction, GG + A Construction, HR Strategies, M. Davis & Sons, Newark Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram, Nickle Electrical Companies, Nowland Associates, Seiberlich Trane Energy Services, The Tri-M Group, Wayman Fire Protection, Worth & Company

Members of the ABC Delaware Diversity Committee.

Silver Award Winners

Aster Drywall, Brightfields County Group, ​DiSabatino Construction, Eastern Industrial Services, George & Lynch, Gioffre Commercial Realty, JF Sobieski, ​Pettinaro Construction, Ralph G. Degli Obizzi & Sons, RC Fabricators, Santora CPA

Bronze Award Winners

Erco Ceilings & Interiors, Karins & Associates, MSP Equipment Rental, MySherpa, Schneider Trailer & Container Rental, Service Unlimited, ​Spacecon

Adams Cup

Mike Horsey

- Partner Content -

Mike Horsey of Common Sense Solutions is this year’s winner of the Adams Cup. This award is given to the ABC Member who recruits the most new members in a calendar year. It is named after Past ABC Delaware Chair and ABC National Chair, Ken Adams of PACE Services. Mike is a first-time Adams Cup recipient. This year he recruited five new members to our association. During his tenure with ABC, he has recruited eight members to the organization. Mike is a member of our Kent/Sussex Advisory Council and has been instrumental in the expansion of our association in this area.



Associate/Supplier of the Year

Frank Dobson 

This award is given to the individual that has made a significant contribution to the association through committee involvement and sponsorship of ABC events. This year’s winner is Frank Dobson of Dobson Associates.

- Advertisement -

Frank has committed countless hours of his time to ABC. He is a past chair of the ABC Safety, Health & Wellness Committee. He has served as an instructor on many ABC safety classes throughout the years. He has been involved in the subcommittee to review applications for the National Safety, Training, Evaluation and Process awards. He currently serves on the Events Committee as the Golf Outing Chair.

Frank is always willing to give his time to ABC community service projects throughout the year. His company Dobson Associates has been a great supporter of ABC through sponsorships and meeting participation.

Charter Cup

Walter “Sonny” Telford

This award is presented annually to the ABC contractor member who exemplifies the true meaning of the Merit Shop philosophy and has contributed most to the association. This year’s winner is Sonny Telford of Sobieski Life Safety.

Sonny is a strong supporter of ABC and has always supported ABC’s efforts to protect free enterprise and open competition in Delaware. Sonny served on the ABC Delaware Board of Directors for six years, and is a regular attendee at all ABC events. His company has been a constant supporter through sponsorships, event participation and community service projects.

Sonny has been a member of the ABC Membership Committee, Legislative & Legal Rights Committee and the Partnering Committee, which promotes a mutual understanding and resolution of issues common to contractors, design professionals and owners.  

Sonny has also been a strong supporter and contributor of both our local Political Action committee and national Political Action committee, which helps elect pro-merit shop legislators. Sonny is an individual that truly embodies the spirit of ABC and is well deserving of this award.

Our Best of Delaware Elimination Ballot is open through February 22!

Holiday flash sale ... subscribe and save 50%

Limited time offer. New subscribers only.