Type to search

Understanding the Growth Stages of Hair


Hair, which includes the follicle in the scalp and the shaft, grows about six inches a year. At any given time, a random number of hairs falls into one of three stages.

• Anagen, when the hair is actively growing. (If your hair won’t grow past a certain length, your active growth phase is on the shorter side.) 

• Catagen, when growth stops.

• Telogen, when the hair rests. A bulb develops at the base, turning the hair into a “club” hair, which sheds as, hopefully, new hairs form.

» For more from this issue, click here. 
» For more from this story, click here.